Webster Honored with Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence

Scott Webster, the Steven Becker Professor of Supply Chain Management at the Whitman School of Management, will receive the 2012 Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence award.

The Chancellor’s Citation awards, first presented in 1979, recognize impressive work in scholarship and education in the Syracuse University community. Nominations are accepted by colleagues for the awards and an independent selection committee chooses the recipients. There are five award recipients this year.

“We are thrilled that Chancellor Cantor is honoring Scott for the breadth and scope of his research in supply chain management along with his steadfast dedication to educating Whitman students,” says Melvin T. Stith, dean of the Whitman School.

Webster, who joined Whitman’s faculty in 1997, is considered a supply chain management expert and has helped to bring Whitman’s program to national prominence through his extensive research and its implementation into the supply chain management curriculum. He serves as co-director of the H.H. Franklin Center for Supply Chain Management, teaches undergraduate classes and has guided 18 doctoral candidates during his tenure.

He is known as a leader in supply chain education. He has published three textbooks. “Principles of Supply Chain Management,” is in its second edition and is used across the country by university students. He’s published more than 50 referred journal articles, in publications such as “Management Science,” “Operations Research” and “Manufacturing & Services Operations Management.” He also helped to develop Whitman’s supply chain management master’s degree program.

His extensive research on remanufacturing and risk management, specifically regarding natural and man-made disasters, has been highly cited and has provided recognition for Whitman’s supply chain program. For example, the Gartner Group – a collection of more than 400 executives from the world’s largest companies – recognized Whitman as a top program in risk management specifically because of Webster’s work.

Webster is the third Whitman School faculty member to receive a Chancellor’s Citation Award. He joins Mike Haynie, executive director of the Entrepreneurship Bootcamp for Veterans with Disabilities and the Barnes Professor of Entrepreneurship, who earned the recognition in 2010, and Sandra Hurd, professor of law and public policy and SU’s associate provost for academic programs, who was honored in 2001.

Webster will receive the award during a ceremony on April 9 at 5:30 p.m. in Lender Auditorium at the Whitman School. A reception will follow in the Flaum Grand Hall.

The other 2012 Chancellor’s Citation recipients are: Don Carr, professor of industrial and interaction design in the College of Visual and Performing Arts; Steve Davis, associate professor and chair of newspaper and online journalism in the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications; Linda Littlejohn, associate vice president of the Southside Initiative; and Karin Ruhlandt, distinguished professor of chemistry in SU’s College of Arts and Sciences.