La Point to receive 2013 Meredith Teaching Recognition Award

Gary La PointGary La Point, assistant professor of supply chain practice at the Whitman School of Management, has been selected as a 2013 recipient of the Meredith Teaching Recognition Award. LaPoint and his fellow recipients will be honored at an awards ceremony on Monday, April 22 at 4 p.m. at Goldstein Faculty Center.

The honor, established by Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith in 2001, recognizes non-tenured faculty and adjunct and part-time instructors who strive for excellence and innovation in teaching and who show promise for continued growth as a teacher. The recipients are each awarded $3,000 to further their professional development.

“His dedication to his profession is evident in his continual efforts to change and improve his courses and his eagerness to take on new course challenges. Gary loves his students and he loves his job. We see this every day in his actions and his words,” says Fran Tucker, associate professor of marketing and supply chain management and chair of the marketing department at Whitman.

La Point earned his BS in marketing from Whitman in 1979 and returned here for his MBA, which he received in 1987. He has worked as an independent consultant in the supply chain industry, as well as for companies such as UTC/Carrier, Xerox, ITT Industries and Cooper Industries. His research interests include international import/export, logistics, U.S. domestic and international transportation, Lean Six Sigma, and warehouse design and operation. La Point also serves as co-director of both the H.H. Franklin Center for Supply Chain and the Harry E. Salzberg Memorial Program.

La Point has been the faculty leader of the Franklin SCM Advisory Board and of the Franklin Student CSCMP Roundtable for the past 11 years, and has developed a unique course on Lean Six Sigma for the Whitman School. He is also the director of the SU Abroad Singapore Summer Internship Program, arranging summer internship experiences and conducting coursework and field trips for both SU Abroad students and LOGTECH MS in Supply Chain Management students.

All faculty members who have completed two years at Syracuse University and who are not yet in the year of their tenure review are eligible for these awards. The award seeks to encourage a culture of collegial mentoring among faculty members.

Past Whitman faculty recipients include Alexander McKelvie (2012), Georgette Nicolaides and Joyce Zadzilka (2011), Anna Chernobai and Amanda Nicholson (2010), Patrick Penfield (2009), Lisa Quinn Knych (2007), Pamela Brandes (2005) and Ravi Dharwadkar (2003).