Skip to ContentSkip to Main Site NavigationSkip to Site Left NavigationSkip to Site Uitlity NavigationSkip to Site Search

Beta Gamma Sigma inducts 23 Whitman students

Martin J. Whitman School of Management students who performed at the highest academic level were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma in a ceremony held at the School on March 26. Beta Gamma Sigma is the honor society for undergraduate and graduate scholars in business programs accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) International. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student can receive in an AACSB program.

Whitman School Dean Ken Kavajecz was the featured speaker, preceded by Beta Gamma Sigma Syracuse chapter Faculty Advisor Lisa Quinn Knych, assistant professor of law and public policy, who provided opening remarks. According to Knych, her three main goals for the chapter are to educate the community about Beta Gamma Sigma, encourage service among chapter members, and foster networking among student and professional members.

Beta Gamma Sigma’s Syracuse chapter is led this year by finance and information management and technology major Zhi Quan Yang ’14 and is one of more than 500 collegiate chapters worldwide. Closing remarks were given by marketing management and applied statistics major and Syracuse chapter secretary Elizabeth Entrup ’14.

The Whitman School congratulates the following initiates, who earned the invitation by being in the top 10 percent (GPA) of their respective junior and senior classes. They are: Maryann Akinboyewa ’15 (marketing management/writing and rhetoric), Nicolas Blumen ’15 (finance), Zachariah Clickman ’15 (finance/entrepreneurship & emerging enterprises), Jennifer Conlon ’15 (finance/economics), Alyssa Di Rienzo ’14 (marketing management/TV radio & film), Darius Edwards ’15 (accounting), Zhengze Fan ’15 (finance/accounting), Tracy Fung ’15 (finance/accounting), Rui Gao ’15 (finance/accounting/psychology), Erika Hammond ’15 (finance/accounting/global enterprise technology), Shengguan Huang ’15 (entrepreneurship & emerging enterprises/advertising/global political economy), Daniel Kennelly ’15 (public relations/management), Joseph Lochli ’15 (accounting), Kelley Long ’15 (supply chain management/retail management), Scott Longworth ’16 (accounting/finance), Jing Pan ’15 (finance/accounting), Christopher Sarling ’15 (accounting/information management and technology), Aaron Schwartz ’15 (finance), Isaac Signorelli ’15 (finance), Kelly Thompson ’15 (finance/entrepreneurship & emerging enterprises), Benjamin Uhing ’15 (finance/management), Melina Violas ’15 (accounting), and Richard Zaffuto ’15 (accounting/public relations).

The Beta Gamma Sigma inductees join an expanding worldwide network of more than 700,000 outstanding business professionals who have earned recognition through lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. The honor society’s members have served in corporate, government, non-profit, educational, and other management positions at every level of responsibility and reside in all 50 U.S. states and more than 160 countries around the world.

Beta Gamma Sigma has established more than 500 collegiate chapters in all 50 U.S. states and 22 countries and territories at schools accredited by AACSB International. Additionally, 27 alumni chapters serve the needs of alumni members in major metropolitan areas from Houston to Hong Kong.