Skip to ContentSkip to Main Site NavigationSkip to Site Left NavigationSkip to Site Utility NavigationSkip to Site Search

Faculty and Staff Honored at the Whitman School Annual Awards Ceremony

Several members of the faculty and staff of the Martin J. Whitman School of Management at Syracuse University were honored at a ceremony May 15, including:

Whitman Research Awards

Whitman Research Fellow Award
Erasmo Giambona
Associate Professor of Finance
Falcone Chair in Real Estate
Director, James D. Kuhn Center for Real Estate

Guttag Junior Faculty Research Fellowship Award
Lai Xu
Assistant Professor of Finance

Edward Pettinella Associate Professorship in Business
Natarajan Balasubramanian
Associate Professor of Management

Dean’s Citation for Research
Lynne C. Vincent
Assistant Professor of Management

Whitman Teaching Awards

Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence Laura J. and L. Douglas Meredith Professorship for Teaching Excellence
Kenneth Walsleben
Professor of Entrepreneurial Practice

Graduate Teacher of the Year
John Petosa
Professor of Practice

Undergraduate Teacher of the Year
Patrick Penfield
Assistant Professor of Supply Chain Practice and Director of Executive Education

Oberwager Award
Raymond M. Wimer
Assistant Professor of Retail Practice

Whitman Teaching Fellow Award
Kivanç A. Avrenli
Assistant Professor of Statistics

Whitman Staff Awards

Rising Star Award
Lisa Liparulo
Academic Advisor for Undergraduate Programs

Staff Member of the Year Award
John Reedy, Jr.
Assistant Director of IT/Application Development

Lifetime Achievement Award
Agnes H. Magnarelli
Administrative Specialist, Research Center and Accounting, Marketing & IT Departments

In addition, Alexander McKelvie  was promoted to professor of entrepreneurship and emerging enterprises, and Julie Neiderhoff was promoted to associate professor, with tenure, of supply chain management. Plus, the following faculty celebrated years of service:

Service Awards

Peter Koveos – 35 years
Department Chair, Professor of Finance and Kiebach Chair in International Business

Tridib Mazumdar – 30 years
Howard R. Gendal Professor of Marketing

Ravi Shukla – 25 years
Associate Professor of Finance

About the Whitman School

The Martin J. Whitman School of Management at Syracuse University educates students to become successful entrepreneurial leaders in a rapidly changing global economy. The Whitman School offers B.S., MBA, M.S. and Ph.D. programs, all accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB). The school’s faculty includes internationally known scholars and researchers, as well as successful entrepreneurs and business leaders. Whitman continues to be ranked among the nation’s top business schools by U.S. News & World Report and Bloomberg Businessweek.

About Syracuse University

Founded in 1870, Syracuse University is a private international research university dedicated to advancing knowledge and fostering student success through teaching excellence, rigorous scholarship and interdisciplinary research. Comprising 11 academic schools and colleges, the University has a long legacy of excellence in the liberal arts, sciences and professional disciplines that prepares students for the complex challenges and emerging opportunities of a rapidly changing world. Students enjoy the resources of a 270-acre main campus and extended campus venues in major national metropolitan hubs and across three continents. Syracuse’s student body is among the most diverse for an institution of its kind across multiple dimensions, and students typically represent all 50 states and more than 100 countries. Syracuse also has a long legacy of supporting veterans and is home to the nationally recognized Institute for Veterans and Military Families, the first university-based institute in the U.S. focused on addressing the unique needs of veterans and their families. To learn more about Syracuse University, visit