Past Award Recipients

Slideshow of Past Salzberg Winners

Year   First Name Last Name Title Company
2015 Unilever
2014 Cummins, Inc.
2013 Earl E. Congdon Kuehne + Nagel Inc.
2012 Michael Haverty Executive Chairman Kansas City Southern
2012 Don Ralph SVP, Supply Chain & Logistics Staples
2011 Yossi Sheffi Elisha Gray II Prof M.I.T.
2011       C&S Wholesale Grocers, Inc
2010       PepsiCo
2009 Malcom McLean (posthumous)    
2009 Michael Ward Chief Executive Officer CSX Transportation
2008       NIKE
2007 William G. "Gus" Pagonis Retired President
Retired Senior Vice President
Sears Logistics
Sears, Roebuck & Co.
2006 Glen T.  Meakam Managing General Partner Meakem Becker Venture Capital
2005 Herbert S.  Shear Chair and Chief Executive Officer Genco Distribution Services
2004 Robert G. Brown Materials Management Systems, Inc.
2004 Dell, Inc
2003 Wegmans Food Markets Inc.
2002 William Copacino Global Managing Partner, SCM Service Lines Accenture
2002 Maria A.  McIntyre Executive Vice President and COO Council of Logistics Management
2001 Larry M. Sur Chief Executive Officer Iogistics Inc.
2000 George D.  Warrington President and Chief Executive Officer National Railroad Passenger Corp. (Amtrak)
2000 Myron P.  Shevell Chairman of the Board New England Motor Freight Inc.
2000 Raymond C.  Burton, Jr.  President and Chief Executive Officer TTX Company
1999 J.B.  Hunt J.B. Hunt Transport Services, Inc.
1999 Professor Robert P. Neuschel  Professor of Corporate Governance J.L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University
1998 Guenter  Rohrmann President and Chief Executive Officer Air Express International, Inc.
1998 Nicholas J.  LaHowchic President and Chief Executive Officer Limited Distribution Services, Inc.
1998 Mary Lou Fox Senior Vice President Manugistics, Inc.
1997 Joseph C. Andraski Vice President of Customer Marketing Nabisco, Inc.
1997 J.C. "Cam" Carruth President and Chief Executive Officer USFreightways, Inc.
1997 Southwest Airlines Company, Inc.
1996 James E. Comerford President and Chief Executive Officer Sears Logistics Services Inc.
1996 Theodore O. Wallin Associate Professor of Transportation and Marketing Syracuse University, School of Management
1996 Newton A.  Graves Vice President of Customer Relations  Yellow Corporation
1996 Traffic World Magazine
1995 Phillip C.  Yeager Chairman  The Hub Group, Inc.
1995 Aaron J. Gellman Director, The Transportation Center J.L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University
1994 Donald J.  Schneider President and CEO Schneider National, Inc.
1994 William J. Augello Executive Director/General Counsel Transportation Claims and Prevention Council Inc.
1994 The Port of Singapore Authority
1993 James A. Hagen Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer Consolidated Rail Corporation
1993 Council of Logistics Management
1992 Clifford F.  Lynch President  Trammell Crow Distribution Corporation
1992 Dr. George W.  Wilson Distinguished Professor, Business Economics and Public Policy Indiana University School of Business
1992 Colorado Transportation Community
1991 W. Don Welch Executive Director South Carolina State Ports Authority
1991 Nat Welch Chairman International Intermodal Expo
1990 George E.  Powell, Jr. Chairman  and Chief Executive Officer Yellow Freight Systems, Inc.
1989 Hays T.  Watkins Chairman of the Board CSX Corporation
1989 Donald J.  Bowersox Professor of Marketing and Logistics  Michigan State University
1988 Robert V.  Delaney Practice leader for Transportation  Arthur D. Little Inc. 
1988 John L.  Hazard Professor, Marketing and Transportation Department  Michigan State University
1987 Richard   Haupt Director of Transportation & Traffic Department Ford Motor Company
1987 Clarence M.  Ditlow Executive Director Center for Auto Safety
1987 United Parcel Service
1986 Dr. Alfred E.  Kahn Robert Julius Thorne Professor of Political Economy Cornell University
1985 Dr. L.L.  Waters Professor Emeritus of Transportation Indiana University  
1985 John C. Emery, Jr.  Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer Emery Air Freight Corporation
1984 James M.  Beggs Administrator National Aeronautics and Space Administration
1983 Dr. Bernard J.  La Londe Riley Professor of Marketing and Logistics Ohio State University
1983 L. Stanley  Crane Chairman, Chief Executive Officer Consolidated Rail Corporation
1982 Robert A.  Bandeen President, Chief Executive Officer Canadian National Railway System
1981 Frederick W.  Smith Founder, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer Federal Express Corporation
1980 J. Robert Morton Vice President Combustion Engineering, Inc.
1979 Louis J.  Gambaccini Commissioner New Jersey State Department of Transportation
1978 Wayne M.  Hoffman President and Chief Executive Officer Tiger International Inc.
1978 Dr. Charles A. Taff Professor of Transportation College of Business and Management, University of Maryland
1977 William K.  Smith Vice President of Transportation General Mills Corporation
1976 Raymond T.  Schuler Commissioner New York State Department of Transportation
1975 B.R.  Stokes Executive Director American Public Transit Association
1974 William B.  Johnson Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Illinois Central Industries, Inc.
1974 Virgil D.  Cover Director of Graduate Studies Graduate School of Business Administration, The University of Georgia
1973 William G.  White Chairman and President Consolidated Freightways, Inc.
1972 Paul W.  Cherington James J. Hill Professor of Transportation Harvard University  
1968 Alfred E.  Perlman President Penn Central Transportation Company
1968 William Pearson Tolley Chancellor Syracuse University
1967 J. Burch McMorran  Commissioner Department of Transporation,State of New York
1966 Alan S.  Boyd Secretary of Transporation
1965 Robert E.  Peach President Mohawk Airlines, Inc.
1964 Walter F.  Carey President Automobile Carriers-Dealers Transit, Inc.
1963 Hugh L.  Dryden Deputy Administrator National Aeronautics and Space Administration
1962 I. Sewell  Morris Commander Defense Traffic Management Service, Department of Defense
1961 Stuart T.  Saunders President Norfolk and Western Railway Company
1960 Lewis G.  Castle Administrator The St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation
1959 Hon. Elwood R.  Quesada Administrator Federal Aviation Agency
1958 George P.  Baker James J. Hill Professor of Transportation Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration
1957 Charles F.  Kettering former General Manager General Motors Research Laboratories
1956 Howard S.  Cullman Honorary Chairman Board of Commissioners, Port of New York Authority
1955 E. Grosvenor Plowman Vice President for Traffic United States Steel Corporation
1954 Thomas H.  MacDonald former Commissioner Bureau of Public Roads
1953 Hon. Clyde B.  Aitchison former Commissioner Interstate Commerce Commission
1952 Harmer E. Davis Director Institute of Transportation and Traffic Engineering, University of California
1951 Richard C.  Colton Vice President Lykes Brothers Company, Inc.
1950 C.R.  Smith Chairman of the Board American Airlines Inc.
1949 Lewis K.  Sillcox Honorary Vice Chairman of the Board New York Air Brake Co.