Skip to ContentSkip to Main Site NavigationSkip to Site Left NavigationSkip to Site Utility NavigationSkip to Site Search

Dual Majors

Dual Programs

The Whitman School, in cooperation with other schools and colleges within SU, offers students the opportunity to pursue two programs of study concurrently. Students enrolled in dual programs fulfill degree requirements in each school and receive one degree jointly conferred by both schools. Dual programs require more than the 121 credits normally required for graduation but can often be completed within four years.

The Whitman School offers dual programs with the School of Information Studies, the College of Arts and Sciences/Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications. The Whitman School also offers the 3+3 programan accelerated six-year joint degree program with the College of Law that allows students to earn a B.S. and J.D.

Double Majors

You may double major in the Whitman School by fulfilling all requirements for any two management majors of your choice. Double majors can be completed with 125 credit hours if you use all free electives toward a second major. If Professional Accounting is one of the majors, you will need to complete a minimum of 128 credit hours.

You can also complete a second major outside the Whitman School in the College of Arts and Sciences/Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs. Two common examples are economics and psychology. Adding a major outside of the Whitman School may increase the number of credits required for graduation.

For more information about double majors or dual programs, visit the Whitman Undergraduate Office (Suite 215) or call (315) 443-2361.